FA Cup 2022/23 Q1 Rd Review

Stat of the Round

Sheringham FC won 1-0 at Lowestoft Town, the first time they’ve beaten their opponents in nine FA Cup meetings.


First time in Q2 Round ever

Westfield FC (20th campaign)

Shepton Mallet (19th campaign)

Ashford United (11th campaign)

Fisher FC, Harborough Town (10th campaign)

Laverstock and Ford, Lichfield City (5th campaign)

Helston Athletic (3rd campaign)

Macclesfield FC (2nd campaign)


Debut FA Cup clubs in Q2 Rd

Bury AFC, Shefford Town and Campton


Equalling best run to Q2 Rd

Sheringham FC – 6th time in 28th campaign

Three Bridges – 4th time in 46th campaign

Beckenham Town – 4th time in 28th campaign

Binfield FC – 3rd time in 14th campaign

Sevenoaks Town – 2nd time in 18th campaign

Enfield FC – 2nd time in 14th campaign

Berkhamsted FC – 2nd time in 12th campaign

Plymouth Parkway – 2nd time in 11th campaign

Anstey Nomads – 2nd time in 8th campaign


First time in Q2 Round in a while

65 years – Sheringham FC (5 campaigns)

20 years – Three Bridges

15 years – Liversedge FC

13 years – Enfield FC, Walton and Hersham (12 campaigns)

12 years – Newcastle Town

11 years – Ashington FC, Beckenham Town, Clitheroe FC, Stocksbridge Park Steels

10 years – AFC Totton, Berkhamsted FC

8 years – Romford FC

7 years – Congleton Town

6 years – Sevenoaks Town, Uxbridge FC

5 years – Herne Bay, Paulton Rovers, Redditch United, Shildon AFC

4 years – Atherstone Town Community Club (2 campaigns), Binfield FC, Brightlingsea Regent, Heybridge Swifts, Plymouth Parkway, Rugby Town, St Neots Town


Into Q2 Rd and long time since last KO before it

21 years – Weston-super-Mare

17 years – Guiseley FC

9 years – FC United of Manchester

7 years – Billericay Town, Kings Langley

6 years – Hornchurch FC

5 years – Coalville Town, Marine AFC, Sholing FC, Tiverton Town

4 years – Carshalton Athletic, Chasetown FC, Chichester City, Folkestone Invicta, Lancaster City, Stratford Town, Tamworth FC


Never KO as early as Q1 Rd (Min 3 campaigns)

Hayes and Yeading United – 16 campaigns


First time knocked out as early as Q1 Rd for a while

10 years – Poole Town

8 years – Truro City

7 years – Nantwich Town

6 years – Horsham FC

5 years – Corinthian-Casuals, Hitchin Town

4 years – Bishop’s Stortford, Harrow Borough, Morpeth Town, Stamford FC


Consecutive Q1 Rd KOs

5 – AFC Rushden and Diamonds

4 – Charnock Richard (best Cup runs), Dereham Town

3 – Lowestoft Town, Potton United, Stourbridge FC


Avenged Previous FA Cup Defeat

Bury Town 0-3 AFC Sudbury

Poole Town 0-2 Salisbury FC

Hednesford Town 1-3 Long Eaton United (lost previous two)

Stafford Rangers 0-2 Newcastle Town

Lowestoft Town 0-1 Sheringham FC (lost all eight previous times)

Cray Valley Paper Mills 3-0 Hastings United (lost previous two)


Beaconsfield Town 0-1 Walton and Hersham (A.e.t.)


Biggest Wins of the Q1 Rd

AFC Totton 9-2 Wincanton Town (Equal Biggest WIN and Biggest DEFEAT)

Midhurst and Easebourne 0-6 Chatham Town (First DEFEAT)

Tamworth FC 6-0 Boldmere St Michaels (Equal Biggest WIN)

Waltham Abbey 7-2 Buckhurst Hill (Equal Biggest WIN and First DEFEAT)

Basford United 5-0 Romulus FC (Biggest WIN and Biggest DEFEAT)

Whitby Town 5-0 Bishop Auckland

Worksop Town 5-0 Worcester Raiders (First DEFEAT)

Baffins Milton Rovers 1-5 Winchester City (Biggest DEFEAT)

Potton United 1-5 Hendon FC

Cleethorpes Town 0-4 Stratford Town (Equal Biggest DEFEAT)

Roman Glass St George 0-4 Hartley Wintney

Warrington Rylands 0-4 Hyde United (Equal biggest DEFEAT)

Canvey Island 5-1 Enfield Town

Carshalton Athletic 5-1 VCD Athletic

St Ives Town 4-0 Barking FC (Equal Biggest DEFEAT)


Lewes FC 8-0 Sheppey United (Biggest WIN and Biggest DEFEAT)

Cray Wanderers 0-4 Bognor Regis Town

Spelthorne Sports 0-4 Fisher FC

Gosport Borough 4-0 Hamworthy United (Equal Biggest DEFEAT)



Nantwich Town (3) 0-2 Congleton Town (5)

Enfield FC (5) 2-1 AFC Rushden and Diamonds (3)

Hitchin Town (3) 0-3 Heybridge Swifts (4)

Hednesford Town (3) 1-3 Long Eaton United (4)

Bishop’s Stortford (3) 0-2 St Neots Town (4)

Stafford Rangers (3) 0-2 Newcastle Town (4)

Cinderford Town (4) 2-3 Laverstock and Ford (5)

Corinthian-Casuals (3) 1-2 Burgess Hill Town (4)

Lowestoft Town (4) 0-1 Sheringham FC (5)

Cray Valley Paper Mills (4) 3-0 Hastings United (3)

Romford FC (5) 3-2 Hashtag United (4)

Bury AFC (5) 2-1 North Shields (4)

Sevenoaks Town (4) 2-1 Kingstonian FC (3)

Stocksbridge Park Steels (4) 2-1 Atherton Collieries (3)


Ashington FC (5) 3-0 Ashton United (3)

Beaconsfield Town (3) 0-1 Walton and Hersham (4) (A.e.t.)

Hanley Town (4) 2-1 Stourbridge FC (3)

Rugby Town (5) 1-0 Grantham Town (4) (A.e.t.)


Hat-tricks and more

5 – Brett Williams (AFC Totton)

5 – Joe Taylor (Lewes FC)

3 – Anthony O’Neill-Dwyer (Basford United)

3 – Dan Sweeney (Bromsgrove Sporting)

3 – Evans Kouassi (Canvey Island)

3 – Harry Green (Whitby Town)

3 – Lee Wort (Sholing FC)

3 – Matt Bateman (Royston Town)

3 – Nabil Shariff (St Ives Town)

3 – Ronnie Winn (Grays Athletic)



Herne Bay have now beaten Horsham FC in the FA Cup in all five of their meetings in the competition.


Published by


The FA Cup Factfile is THE most comprehensive resource for FA Cup facts & stats. Spanning almost 150 years of FA Cup history, covering over 3,200 clubs playing more than 71,500 FA Cup matches, the FA Cup Factfile contains facts and stats for Arlesey Town to Arsenal, from Liversedge to Liverpool, and from Mangotsfield United to Manchester United. Visit my website https://facupfactfile.co.uk/ for more details on how you can access my vast FA Cup database

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s