FA Cup 2022/23 Prelim Rd Review

First time in Q1 Round ever

Harborough Town – 10th campaign

Holyport FC, West Didsbury and Chorlton – 9th campaign

Baffins Milton Rovers, Laverstock and Ford, Rusthall FC – 5th campaign

Avro FC, Aylesbury Vale Dynamos – 4th campaign

Helston Athletic, Kimberley Miners Welfare – 3rd campaign

Macclesfield FC, Wincanton Town – 2nd campaign


Debut FA Cup clubs in Q1 Rd

Buckhurst Hill, Bury AFC, Midhurst and Easebourne, Shefford Town and Campton, Worcester Raiders


Step 6 Clubs into Q1 Rd

Wincanton Town


Equalling best run to Q1 Rd

Ashford United – 5th time in 11th campaign

Shepton Mallet – 4th time in 19th campaign

Loughborough Students – 4th time in 14th campaign

Spelthorne Sports – 4th time in 8th campaign

Charnock Richard – 4th time in 6th campaign

Westfield FC – 3rd time in 20th campaign

AFC Stoneham, Lichfield City – 3rd time in 5th campaign

Fisher FC – 2nd time in 10th campaign

Whitchurch Alport – 2nd time in 6th campaign


First time in Q1 Round in a while

69 years – Roman Glass St George (5 campaigns)

61 years – Sheringham FC (1 campaign)

46 years – Heaton Stannington (6 campaigns)

18 years – Whickham FC (14 campaigns)

15 years – Edgware and Kingsbury (7 campaigns)

12 years – Torpoint Athletic (3 campaigns)

11 years – Hanworth Villa

9 years – Stocksbridge Park Steels, Three Bridges

8 years – Ashington FC

7 years – Goole AFC, Ipswich Wanderers (5 campaigns)

6 years – North Greenford United, Slimbridge FC

5 years – AFC Totton, Eastbourne Town, Newcastle Town, Penistone Church, Shepshed Dynamo

4 years – Beckenham Town, Congleton Town, Erith Town, Hertford Town, Heybridge Swifts, Highgate United, Leverstock Green, Paulton Rovers, Rugby Town, Stourport Swifts, Westbury United


Into Q1 Rd and never Exited FA Cup before it (min 3 campaigns)

City of Liverpool – 6 campaigns


Into Q1 Rd and long time since last KO before it

18 years – East Thurrock United

13 years – Biggleswade Town, Chasetown FC

12 years – AFC Sudbury, Grantham Town, Leatherhead FC, Witton Albion

7 years – Sevenoaks Town

6 years – Aylesbury United

5 years – Cirencester Town, Sholing FC, Wimborne Town

4 years – Barking FC, Biggleswade FC, Chichester City, Dereham Town, Pontefract Collieries, Sheppey United, Shepton Mallet, Stamford FC


Consecutive Prelim Rd KOs

8 – Newhaven FC (over 23 years)

6 – Brighouse Town, Brimscombe and Thrupp

5 – Lincoln United, Market Drayton Town

4 – FC Romania, Guildford City

3 – AFC Portchester, Badshot Lea, Histon FC, Newcastle Benfield, Newmarket Town, Northwich Victoria, Ossett United, Prestwich Heys (over 5 years), Sittingbourne FC, Whitton United


Avenged Previous FA Cup Defeat

Lancing FC 1-4 East Grinstead United (last met 70 years ago)

FC Romania 0-2 Heybridge Swifts

Carlton Town 0-1 Loughborough Students

Sporting Khalsa 0-1 Boldmere St Michaels

Waltham Abbey 3-0 Tilbury FC

Walton and Hersham 3-2 Littlehampton Town

Holyport FC 2-1 Ascot United (Met last season)

Mildenhall Town 2-1 Histon FC


Kidsgrove Athletic 1-2 Lye Town

Clevedon Town 1-2 Cirencester Town

Harlow Town 1-1 Brentwood Town (4-2 on pens) (lost previous 2 meetings)


Biggest Wins of the Prelim Rd

West Allotment Celtic 0-7 Workington AFC (Biggest DEFEAT)

Lymington Town 0-6 Basingstoke Town

Harborough Town 6-1 Bottesford Town (Equal Biggest WIN)

Leek Town 1-5 Atherstone Town Community (Biggest WIN)

Silsden FC 1-5 Charnock Richard (Biggest DEFEAT and Equal Biggest WIN)

Westbury United 5-1 Andover New Street

Didcot Town 4-0 Cadbury Heath

Shepton Mallet 4-0 Brixham FC (Equal Biggest WIN and Biggest DEFEAT)

Whickham FC 4-0 Sunderland Ryhope Community Association


Chipping Sodbury Town 0-5 Cinderford Town (Biggest DEFEAT and Equal Biggest WIN)

Handsworth FC 1-5 Cleethorpes Town

Grantham Town 5-1 Lincoln United

Worcester Raiders 4-0 Malvern Town (Biggest WIN)



Leek Town (4) 1-5 Atherstone Town Community (5)

Brighouse Town (4) 1-2 Penistone Church (5)

Ossett United (4) 1-2 Whitchurch Alport (5)

Southall FC (4) 0-1 Peacehaven and Telscombe (5)

Ipswich Wanderers (5) 3-0 Gorleston FC (4)

Romulus FC (5) 3-0 Halesowen Town

Aylesbury Vale Dynamos (5) 3-1 Bristol Manor Farm (4)

Bury AFC (5) 2-0 Widnes FC (4)

Erith Town (5) 2-1 Bedfont Sports (4)

Rusthall FC (5) 2-1 Ramsgate FC (4)


Bootle FC (4) 1-4 Congleton Town (5)

Kidsgrove Athletic (4) 1-2 Lye Town (5)

Sittingbourne FC (4) 0-1 Fisher FC (5)

Wincanton Town (6) 3-0 Camberley Town

Edgware and Kingsbury (5) 1-0 AFC Dunstable (4)


Hat-tricks and more

4 – Nat Ansu (Harborough Town)

3 – Cemal Ramadan (Bury Town)

3 – Harry Wood (Grantham Town)

3 – James Steele (City of Liverpool)

3 – Jon Clements (Biggleswade Town)

3 – Jordan Murphy (Worcester Raiders)

3 – Louis Johnson (Bishop Auckland)

3 – Marco Neves (Basingstoke Town)


Published by


The FA Cup Factfile is THE most comprehensive resource for FA Cup facts & stats. Spanning almost 150 years of FA Cup history, covering over 3,200 clubs playing more than 71,500 FA Cup matches, the FA Cup Factfile contains facts and stats for Arlesey Town to Arsenal, from Liversedge to Liverpool, and from Mangotsfield United to Manchester United. Visit my website https://facupfactfile.co.uk/ for more details on how you can access my vast FA Cup database

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s