FA Vase 2021/22 1st Round Review


First time in 2nd Round ever

Andover New Street – 15th campaign

Birtley Town – 13th campaign

Oldland Abbotonians – 9th campaign

Hinckley LR – 7th campaign

Whitchurch Alport – 6th campaign

Sandbach United – 5th campaign

British Airways, Sheerwater FC – 4th campaign

Athletic Newham, Lakenheath FC, New Salamis, Pilkington FC – 3rd campaign

Brixham FC, Bury AFC, Mousehole FC, Whittlesey Athletic – 2nd campaign


Debut clubs in 2nd Round

Berks County, Buckhurst Hill, Redcar Town, Shefford Town and Campton, Wendron United


Equalling best run to 2nd Rd

Cockfosters FC – 6th time in 35th campaign

Barton Town – 5th time in 15th campaign

Milton United – 4th time in 28th campaign

Royal Wootton Bassett Town – 4th time in 21st campaign

Loughborough University – 4th time in 14th campaign

Raynes Park Vale – 3rd time in 25th campaign

Crawley Down Gatwick – 3rd time in 12th campaign

London Lions – 3rd time in 9th campaign

Cornard United – 2nd time in 31st campaign

Prestwich Heys – 2nd time in 14th campaign

Shaftesbury FC – 2nd time in 13th campaign

Baldock Town, Harborough Town – 2nd time in 11th campaign

Aylestone Park – 2nd time in 10th campaign

Lichfield City – 2nd time in 9th campaign

Risborough Rangers – 2nd time in 8th campaign

Kimberley Miners Welfare – 2nd time in 7th campaign

Stansfeld FC – 2nd time in 5th campaign


First time in 2nd Round in a while

42 years – Carlisle City

24 years – Burscough FC

18 years – Wallingford Town

17 years – Liskeard Athletic, Milton United

13 years – Cornard United, Harefield United, Street FC

11 years – AFC Liverpool, Keynsham Town

10 years – Eccleshill United, Egham Town, Gresley Rovers

9 years – Frimley Green

8 years – Billingham Synthonia, Newmarket Town

7 years – Crawley Down Gatwick

6 years – Tunbridge Wells

5 years – Bemerton Heath Harlequins, Cockfosters FC, Emley AFC, Ipswich Wanderers, Lichfield City, Shaftesbury FC, Torpoint Athletic

4 years – Beckenham Town, Highgate United, Kimberley Miners Welfare, Racing Club Warwick, Wellington FC

3 years – Baldock Town, Barton Town, Pagham FC, Prestwich Heys, Tring Athletic, Winterton Rangers


Into 2nd Rd and long time since last KO before 2nd Rd

6 years – Southall FC

5 years – Brockenhurst FC, Coventry United

4 years – Chatham Town, Falmouth Town, Hamworthy United

3 years – Atherstone Town Community, Buckland Athletic, Consett FC, Deal Town, Glebe FC, Loughborough University, Raynes Park Vale, Wroxham FC


Never KO before 2nd Rd (Min 3 campaigns)

Worcester City – 5 campaigns


First time Knocked Out before 2nd Rd for a while

8 years – Bradford Town

4 years – Kirkley and Pakefield, Vauxhall Motors


Consecutive 1st Rd KOs

3 – Bournemouth FC, Camelford FC, Erith and Belvedere


Avenged Previous FA Vase Defeat

Heaton Stannington 2-5 Eccleshill United

Bitton 2-4 New Milton Town (after two previous defeats)

Mildenhall Town 1-2 Lakenheath FC (Lost just last year)

Newton Abbot Spurs 1-2 Brixham FC (Lost just last year)

Brimscombe and Thrupp 2-1 Welton Rovers

Newmarket Town 2-1 Redbridge FC


Biggest Wins of the 1st Rd

Coventry Sphinx 9-0 AFC Bridgnorth (Biggest Vase WIN and Biggest Vase DEFEAT)

Abbey Hey 6-0 Parkgate FC

Brockenhurst FC 6-0 Bodmin Town (Biggest Vase WIN and Biggest Vase DEFEAT)

Chatham Town 6-0 Alresford Town (Biggest Vase WIN and Biggest Vase DEFEAT)

Wroxham FC 6-0 Benfleet FC (Equal Biggest Vase MARGIN of VICTORY and Biggest Vase DEFEAT)

Wellingborough Whitworth 1-6 Highgate United (Biggest Vase DEFEAT)

Gresley Rovers 7-2 Harrowby United (Biggest Vase DEFEAT)

Great Yarmouth Town 1-5 Buckhurst Hill

Ampthill Town 0-4 Norwich CBS (Biggest Vase WIN)

Graham Street Prims 0-4 Lichfield City (Equal Biggest Vase WIN)

Quorn FC 0-4 Hinckley LR

Pilkington FC 7-3 West Allotment Celtic (Equal Biggest Vase Margin of Victory)

Baldock Town 5-1 Hillingdon Borough (Equal Biggest Vase WIN)

Carlisle City 5-1 Chester-le-Street (Equal biggest Vase WIN)

Winterton Rangers 5-1 Goole FC (Equal Biggest Vase Margin of Victory)

Aylestone Park 4-0 Wednesfield FC (Biggest Vase WIN)

British Airways 4-0 Epsom and Ewell (Biggest Vase WIN)

Deal Town 4-0 Kennington FC

Guildford City 4-0 Shoreham FC

Mousehole FC 4-0 Wells City (Biggest Vase WIN)

Royal Wootton Bassett Town 4-0 Downton FC

Sheppey United 4-0 Forest Hill Park

Thornaby FC 4-0 South Liverpool


FA Vase Upsets

Bitton FC (5) 2-4 New Milton Town (6)

Cribbs FC (5) 1-2 Andover New Street (6)

Eynesbury Rovers (5) 1-2 Sandbach United (6)

Heather St Johns (5) 1-2 Atherstone Town Community (6)

Sunderland Ryhope Colliery Welfare (5) 1-2 Bury AFC (6)

Ilford FC (5) 0-1 Shefford Town and Campton (6)

Ashton and Backwell United (5) 1-1 Bemerton Heath Harlequins (6) (4-5 on pens)

Grimsby Borough (5) 1-1 Redcar Town (6) (1-4 on pens)

Pilkington FC (6) 7-3 West Allotment Celtic (5)

Torpoint Athletic (6) 4-1 Chipping Sodbury Town (5)

London Lions (6) 4-2 Thetford Town (5)

Wendron United (6) 4-2 Bournemouth FC (5)

Holker Old Boys (6) 3-1 Skelmersdale United (5)

Ipswich Wanderers (6) 2-0 Milton Keynes Irish (5)

Berks County (6) 2-1 Burnham FC (5)

Falmouth Town (6) 2-1 Bradford Town (5)

Whittlesey Athletic (6) 1-0 Wolverhampton Casuals (5)

Oldland Abbotonians (6) 2-2 Helston Athletic (5) (5-4 on pens)

Wallingford Town (6) 2-2 Ascot United (5) (6-5 on pens)


Hat-tricks and more

3 – Ben Henderson (Billingham Synthonia)

3 – Callum Laird (Pilkington FC)

3 – Callum McConie (Mousehole FC)

3 – Callum Stewart (Coventry Sphinx)

3 – Charlie Young (Wendron United)

3 – Dan Bradshaw (Chatham Town)

3 – Fin Aldridge (Baldock Town)

3 – John Mills (Royal Wootton Bassett Town)

3 – Jordan Lazenbury (Abbey Hey)

3 – Josh Walker (Winterton Rangers)

3 – Nathaniel Mensah (Guildford City)

3 – Ryan Harkin (Coventry Sphinx)

3 – Ryan Richards (Torpoint Athletic)

Published by


The FA Cup Factfile is THE most comprehensive resource for FA Cup facts & stats. Spanning almost 150 years of FA Cup history, covering over 3,200 clubs playing more than 71,500 FA Cup matches, the FA Cup Factfile contains facts and stats for Arlesey Town to Arsenal, from Liversedge to Liverpool, and from Mangotsfield United to Manchester United. Visit my website https://facupfactfile.co.uk/ for more details on how you can access my vast FA Cup database

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s