FA Cup 2021/22 Preliminary Rd Review

Stat of the Round

Melksham Town equal the FA Cup record of most campaigns without appearing in the ‘Proper’ Rounds of the competition – 97.


First time in Q1 Round ever

Broadfields United, Easington Sports – 4th campaign

Sherwood Colliery, Stone Old Alleynians – 3rd campaign

Kennington FC, Little Oakley, Mulbarton Wanderers – 2nd campaign


Debut clubs in Q1 Round

Alton FC, Jersey Bulls


Equalling best run to Q1 Rd

Ilford FC (3rd time in 23rd campaign)

West Allotment Celtic (3rd time in 15th campaign)

Loughborough University (3rd time in 13th campaign)

Sutton Common Rovers (3rd time in 12th campaign)

Spelthorne Sports (3rd time in 7th campaign)

Charnock Richard (3rd time in 5th campaign)

Ascot United, Barnoldswick Town (2nd time in 11th campaign)

Coventry United, Longlevens (2nd time in 6th campaign)

Leicester Road (2nd time in 5th campaign)

Exmouth Town, Lichfield City (2nd time in 4th campaign)


First time in Q1 Round in a while

19 years – North Shields

12 years – Enfield FC

11 years – Ilford FC, Winterton Rangers

10 years – Hebburn Town, Oxhey Jets

9 years – Newport Pagnell Town, Walton and Hersham

7 years – Ardley United, Norwich United, Redhill FC

6 years – Kirkley and Pakefield, Newton Aycliffe, Sporting Khalsa

5 years – Alresford Town, Ascot United, Bridlington Town, Coventry United, Felixstowe and Walton United, Harefield United, Leicester Road, Peacehaven and Telscombe, Uxbridge

4 years – Ashford Town (Mdx), Baldock Town, Barnoldswick Town, Coleshill Town, Handsworth FC, Shildon FC, Thame United

3 years – Anstey Nomads, Basingstoke Town, Bedford Town, Clitheroe FC, Great Wakering Rovers, Hamworthy United, Hythe Town, Kendal Town, Lymington Town, Phoenix Sports, Shaftesbury FC, Spalding United, Squires Gate


Into Q1 Rd and long time since last KO before Q1 Rd

61 years – Marine FC

18 years – Hastings United

12 years – Chasetown FC

11 years – AFC Sudbury

9 years – Halesowen Town

8 years – Leek Town

7 years – Hanwell Town

6 years – Sevenoaks Town

5 years – Aylesbury United

4 years – Belper Town, Bracknell Town, Brentwood Town, Cirencester Town, Sholing FC, Walthamstow FC

3 years – Bedfont Sports, Biggleswade FC, Bishop’s Cleeve, Canvey Island, Charnock Richard, Chertsey Town, Chichester City, Chipstead FC, Dereham Town, Haywards Heath Town,  Highworth Town, Kidlington FC, Marske United, Pontefract Collieries, Sheppey United, Shepton Mallet, South Park, Stamford FC, Stockton Town, Sunderland Ryhope Community Association, Sutton Common Rovers


Never KO before Q1 Rd (Min 3 campaigns)

City of Liverpool – 5 campaigns


First time knocked out as early as Prelim Rd ever (Min 3 campaigns)

Coggeshall Town – 4th campaign


First time Knocked Out before Q1 Rd for a while

10 years – Winchester City

7 years – Cinderford Town

6 years – Soham Town Rangers

4 years – Binfield FC, Burnham FC, Chalfont St Peter, Tadcaster Albion, Trafford, Wantage Town

3 years – Ashford United, Barking FC, Bideford FC, Bristol Manor Farm, Evesham United, Grays Athletic, Leighton Town, Little Common, Loughborough Dynamo, Maldon and Tiptree, Ramsbottom United, Sheffield FC, Tavistock FC, Waltham Abbey


Consecutive Prelim Rd KOs

8 – Stocksbridge Park Steels, Three Bridges

7 – Newhaven FC

5 – Brighouse Town, Brimscombe and Thrupp, Gresley Rovers, Slimbridge FC

4 – AFC Totton, Lincoln United, Market Drayton Town, Newcastle Town, Yaxley FC

3 – Beckenham Town, Cockfosters FC, FC Romania, Guildford City, Guisborough Town, Hertford Town, Heybridge Swifts, Paulton Rovers, Saffron Walden Town


Avenged Previous FA Cup Defeat

Lancing FC 0-4 Haywards Heath Town (now 3 wins each)

Saffron Walden Town 0-4 Hadley FC

Brantham Athletic 0-3 Spalding United

Lincoln United 0-3 Stamford (now 2 wins each)

Bideford FC 1-3 Barnstaple Town (now 10 wins to seven to Bideford)

Coggeshall Town 0-1 Berkhamsted

Mangotsfield United 3-0 Tavistock

North Shields 2-0 Guisborough Town

Barnoldswick Town 5-4 Ramsbottom United

Sporting Khalsa 3-2 Market Drayton Town

Basingstoke Town 2-1 AFC Totton (after 36 years)


Littlehampton Town 4-0 Sittingbourne

Burnham FC 1-4 Northwood FC (avenged last year’s defeat)

Deal Town 0-1 Redhill FC


Biggest Wins of the Prelim Rd

Aylesbury United 8-0 Brimscombe and Thrupp (Biggest DEFEAT)

North Greenford United 0-7 Tilbury (Biggest DEFEAT)

Yorkshire Amateur 0-7 Hebburn Town (Equal biggest DEFEAT and WIN)

Chasetown 7-0 Uttoxeter Town

Marske United 7-0 Pickering Town (Joint biggest margin of victory)

Phoenix Sports 7-0 Punjab United (Gravesend) (Biggest WIN and DEFEAT)

Haughmond FC 0-5 Hanley Town (Biggest WIN)

Shaftesbury FC 6-1 AFC Stoneham (Biggest WIN)

Whitstable Town 5-0 Alfold FC

Corsham Town 1-5 Fleet Town

Daventry Town 1-5 Cambridge City

Irlam 1-5 Skelmersdale United

Lancing FC 0-4 Haywards Heath Town

Newhaven FC 0-4 Jersey Bulls

Saffron Walden Town 0-4 Hadley FC

Hanwell Town 5-0 Athletic Newham

Potton United 5-1 Walsham-le-Willows

Long Eaton United 4-0 Shepshed Dynamo

Stowmarket Town 4-0 Witham Town


Flackwell Heath 6-0 Tuffley Rovers (Record WIN and Record DEFEAT)

Charnock Richard 5-1 Eccleshill United (Record WIN)

Littlehampton Town 4-0 Sittingbourne

Sutton Common Rovers 4-0 Steyning Town Community (Joint biggest WIN)



Frickley Athletic (4) 0-3 Sunderland Ryhope Community Association (5)

Evesham United (4) 2-4 Lichfield City (5)

Barking FC (4) 2-3 Ilford FC (5)

Sheffield FC (4) 1-2 Sherwood Colliery (5)

Tadcaster Albion (4) 1-2 Newton Aycliffe (5)

Newcastle Town (4) 0-1 Leicester Road (5)

Long Eaton United (5) 4-0 Shepshed Dynamo (4)

Handsworth FC (5) 5-2 Stocksbridge Park Steels (4)

Newport Pagnell Town (5) 4-1 Histon (4)

Walthamstow FC (5) 2-0 Hullbridge Sports (4)

Barnoldswick Town (5) 5-4 Ramsbottom United (4)

Longlevens (5) 3-2 Chalfont St Peter (4)

Baldock Town (5) 2-1 Grays Athletic (4)

Exmouth Town (5) 2-1 Bristol Manor Farm (4)

Harefield United (5) 2-1 Binfield (4)

Oxhey Jets (5) 1-0 Didcot Town (4)


Littlehampton Town (5) 4-0 Sittingbourne (4)

Mildenhall Town (5) 1-0 Yaxley FC (4)

Hertford Town (4) 1-2 Little Oakley (5)

Easington Sports (5) 2-2 Cinderford Town (4) (4-2 on pens)


Hat-tricks and more

5 – Adam Boyes (Marske United)

3 – Callum Larmouth (West Allotment Celtic)

3 – Harry Stannard (Whitstable Town)

3 – Jeff Duah-Kessie (Phoenix Sports)

3 – Lekan Ojideko (Phoenix Sports)

3 – Luke Alfano (Hadley FC)

3 – Mickey Finch (Shaftesbury FC)

3 – Paul Turner (Barnoldswick Town)


3 – Carl Grimshaw (Charnock Richard)

3 – Simeon Weekes (Flackwell Heath)



Sherwood Colliery have reached the 1st Qualifying Round for the first time, eclipsing even the original club of the same name that competed in the FA Cup in the late 1940s / early 1950s.

Five clubs won 7-0 … Tilbury FC, Hebburn Town, Chasetown FC, Marske United and Phoenix Sports.

All eight Step 6 clubs have now been knocked out of this season’s FA Cup.

Published by


The FA Cup Factfile is THE most comprehensive resource for FA Cup facts & stats. Spanning almost 150 years of FA Cup history, covering over 3,200 clubs playing more than 71,500 FA Cup matches, the FA Cup Factfile contains facts and stats for Arlesey Town to Arsenal, from Liversedge to Liverpool, and from Mangotsfield United to Manchester United. Visit my website https://facupfactfile.co.uk/ for more details on how you can access my vast FA Cup database

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s