FA Cup 1st Round – One to Ten

  1. Notts County has won the FA Cup just once, way back in 1894. That’s 122 years since the club last equalled its best ever Cup run!
  1. Gainsborough Trinity and Shrewsbury Town have met twice in the FA Cup in the past with Trinity winning both times. In the Fifth Qualifying Round 1910/11 season Trinity won 4-0, and in 1933/34 Trinity won their 4th Qualifying Round tie 3-1 after a replay.
  1. By being in the 1st Round three clubs are equalling their best ever FA Cup performance. FC Halifax Town and AFC Fylde are both in their eighth FA Cup campaign, but Braintree Town are competing for the 58th time and are in the 1st Round for the fourth successive season.
  1. There are four clubs making their debut in the FA Cup 1st Barwell, Didcot Town and Whitehawk have all been close before making the 4th Qualifying Round in the past, but Salford City has only ever been as far as the 3rd Qualifying Round in their previous 25 FA Cup campaigns.
  1. Mansfield Town and Oldham Athletic have met each other five times in the FA Cup in the past, the most common match-up of all this year’s 1st Round ties. Oldham are 4-1 in terms of victories between the two teams which, co-incidentally, is the scoreline the last time the two clubs met in the 2nd Round two years ago.
  1. By entering this year’s competition in the Preliminary Round, way back on August Bank Holiday weekend, Didcot Town and Northwich Victoria will both be playing their sixth tie. That’s as many ties as the eventual finalists will play.
  1. Portsmouth last won an FA Cup match when they beat Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 in the 2009/10 Semi Final. That was seven FA Cup matches ago!
  1. It is eight years since Doncaster Rovers failed to progress beyond the 1st
  1. Just nine of the 40 First Round ties involve clubs who will face each other in League matches during the season. Five ties between League One sides and four ties between League Two.
  1. There are 10 former FA Cup winners in this year’s 1st Round: AFC Wimbledon, Barnsley, Blackpool, Bradford City, Bury, Coventry City, Notts County, Portsmouth, Sheffield United and Wigan Athletic.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s